Ann Arbor

Federal Building

200 E. Liberty Street

Ann Arbor, MI  48104

Bay City

United States Post Office

1000 Washington Ave.

Bay City, MI  48708


Theodore Levin U.S. Courthouse

231 W. Lafayette Blvd.

Detroit, MI  48226


Federal Building and U.S. Courthouse

600 Church Street

Flint, MI  48502

Port Huron

Federal Building and United States Courthouse

526 Water Street

Port Huron, MI  48060



As one of the largest federal courts in the country, the United States District Court for the Eastern District of Michigan through its Historical Society seeks to nurture an awareness of its past and its historical significance.  It is the goal of the Historical Society to accomplish that purpose.




Located on four of the Great Lakes and the Detroit, St. Clair and St. Mary’s Rivers, Michigan also developed as a major shipping center resulting in key admiralty decisions by the Court. With the rise of the trade union movement, the Eastern District played a vital role in the evolution of law governing the right of workers to organize themselves into unions. In the turbulent decade of the 1960s the Eastern District’s docket became an especially important focal point for the effort to protect the civil rights and civil liberties of Americans.




The Historical Society was formed in 1992 to preserve the history of the United States District Court for the Eastern District of Michigan and the men and women associated with it.


Eastern District of Michigan Judges

According to Article 3 of the U.S. Constitution, Federal Judges are nominated by the President, confirmed by the U.S. Senate, and can serve for life.  The first U.S. District Judge for the District of Michigan, Ross Wilkins, was confirmed in 1836 and served for 34 years until his resignation from the court in 1870.


  • Judge Levin

  • Judge McCree

  • Judge Machrowicz

  • Judge Cook